The Nonesuch Dickens collection from Overlook Press recreates, with exceptional detail, the limited edition collection published in 1937 by Nonesuch Press. To date, nine books have been reproduced, and three more are scheduled to be released in January 2012.

Originally published in 1937 as a limited edition, 24-volume collection by Nonesuch Press, the Nonesuch Dickens collection was the “most complete and handsome” set of Dickens’ works ever printed. The books were printed from the original woodblock and steel plates used by the original publisher, Chapman & Hall.

In 2005, Overlook Press purchased the rights to the Nonesuch catalog and has released nine of the books, which are available individually, or in two sets. A third set of three more books is scheduled to be released on January 19, 2012.

The nine books are Nicholas Nickleby, Great Expectations/Hard Times, Christmas Books, Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Bleak House, A Tale of Two Cities, Little Dorrit and Martin Chuzzlewit. The three books set to be released in January are The Pickwick Papers, The Old Curiosity Shop and Our Mutual Friend.

Based on the world-famous “Nonesuch Press” edition of 1937, the text for these new editions is taken from the 1867 “Chapman and Hall” editions, which became known as the “Charles Dickens” editions, and were the last to be corrected by the author himself. “The Nonesuch” edition contains illustrations selected by Dickens himself, by artists including Hablot Knight Browne (‘Phiz’), George Cruikshank, John Leech, Robert Seymour and George Cattermole. This new collection from Overlook Press reproduces the original elegance of these beautiful editions. Each book is printed on natural cream shade high quality stock. They are quarter bound in bonded leather with cloth sides, include a ribbon marker and feature special printed endpapers. Each book is wrapped in a protective, clear acetate jacket. Not only are these books exquisitely designed for collections, they are a pleasure to read.